Been Unwell

Yes, I have been unwell. It started out with a tickle-hurt at the back of my throat Wednesday evening, by Thursday p.m. I didn’t feel up to going to the gym, Friday I was at the doctors and this weekend has slipped by barely noticed by me. C has been wonderful tending to me and my every wish, bringing me medicine and making sure I stay okay and hydrated. At its worse I was very out of breath from doing anything, my chest was quite congested, and I would get tired from any exertion whatsoever. My throat still hurts quite a bit but I’ve decided to start on the antibiotics the doc gave me, possibly as a placebo and am hoping for the best. I had to stay home Friday night and reschedule my dinner from Saturday night. I feel awful about that last one, I have to say. It’s already been postponed once.

Speaking of Health

I got my blood work results back; I have a borderline low red blood cell count, although the doctor says I’m not anemic, and my cholesterol levels are 212 combined, with a barely-squeaking into the good category HDL (the good cholesterol) level, and a slightly too high LDL (the bad) level, so I’ll have to cut down on animal fats, eat more oily fish, less total fat, more soluble fiber, and exercise more.

However, as you’ve surmised, I’ve not been able to do the latter much. I really wanted to get up to 45 minutes on the ‘mill or more, and 60 or so by the end of the month, but that’s down the drain now, or rather, postponed. I feel a bit down about that.

I used to think of being ill as just another event, just another boring view from the window of the boring train trip which I felt was life. Nothing major, something to be gotten through, like a TV show or a wait at the DMV. My life really did seem like a string of events, some good, some bad, but a string over which I had very little control – the only thing I could regulate was my presence and engagement, much as a train passenger can raise or close the blind on the window or turn towards or away from the view.

Over the last few months and years, I really have come to enjoy most of my life, vast chunks of it, to be exact, and being sick has annoyed me greatly. A combination of C’s love and my own self-care has made things much better and I want my life back. Dammit! I’ll not do anything imprudent – I don’t know if I’ll be back on the ‘mill tomorrow evening, a lot depends on how well I can breathe, as you can imagine, but I’m impatient to get back in my saddle. This is a very new development in my life. It can only be good, wouldn’t you say?

Kartulis vsts’avlobt! Let’s read Georgian!

Sad or overwhelmed to say, the book, not content with dropping the present and future tense on us, proceeds to make us learn the conditional and imperfect tense, and all this before the first exercises!

The conditional tense shows what would happen (if some condition were fulfilled) and the imperfect, what was happening or what used to happen. Compare this to the future, showing what will happen, and the present, which shows was has happened just now. If you want to stress the iterativity or habituality of the imperfect, to stress the idea of ‘used to’ you can add the adverb “kholme.”

The conditional is “built” on the same stem as the future (i.e., with the preverb) and the imperfect, on the same stem as the present (i.e., without the preverb).The suffixes are: -di, for 1p and 2p; -da, for 3ps, and -dnen, for 3pp.

Now, I found it interesting…the future is made into the conditional by the same mechanism that makes the present into the imperfect, that is, the -di/-da/-dnen suffix, which seem to project the action into the past. Adding these suffixes, like adding -ed to an English verb, sends the verb into the past. With respect to the conditional, it seems as if you take a future verb (davts’er = will write) and make it also into the past (davts’erdi = would write), same as in English. The conditional is a future-in-the-past, as it were. I think it’s the same in a lot of languages.

Anyway, let’s see how all this works…with the root ts’er = write. The future stem with the preverb is da=ts’er…and we use the same person markers (v-, nothing, and -t) as always.

In the conditional:

da=v-ts’er-di – I would write (v- showing first person, -da and -di showing the conditional)

da= -ts’er-di – you would write (no person maker, plus -di = second person)

da= -ts’er-da – he/she/it would write (no person marker, plus -da = third person)

da=v-ts’er-di-t = we would write (v- for first person, -t for plural)

da= -ts’er-di-t = you all would write (no person marker for second person, -t for plural)

da= -ts’er-dnen = they would write (no person marker for third person, plus -dnen = third plural

And in the imperfect (I was, you were, he she it or they were, writing)

v-ts’er-di(t)

-ts’er-di(t)

-ts’er-da,

-ts’er-dnen

Let’s run though some of the other verbs we’ve learnt:

a=a-shen-eb-s (preverb a=, preradical vowel -a-, root shen, present/future stem formant -eb) = he will build it. To say “I/you/he/she/it/we/you all/they would build it” we would keep the preverb (for future/conditional) and add the -di/-da/-dnen and person markers, as follows:

a=v-a-shen-eb-di, a=_-a-shen-eb-di, a=_a-shen-eb-da, a=v-a-shen-eb-di-t, a=_a-shen-eb-di-t, a=_a-shen-eb-dnen.

And to say “I/he/she/it was or we/you/you all/they were building it” we’d drop the preverb and add -di/-da/-dnen:

v-a-shen-eb-di, a-shen-eb-di, a-shen-eb-da, v-a-shen-eb-di-t, a-shen-eb-di-t, a-shen-eb-dnen.

ga=a-k’et-eb-s (pvb ga, prv a) = he makes it. Can you already see that “I/you/he/she/it/we/you all/they would make it” would be:

gavak’etebdi, gaak’etebdi, gaak’etebda, gavak’etebdit, gaak’etebdit, gaak’etebdnen?

And that “I/he/she/it was or we/you you all/they were making it” would be:

vak’etebdi, ak’etebdi, ak’etebda, vak’etebdit, ak’etebdit, ak’etebdnen?

Remember agh+ts’ers (he will describe something)?

It was one of those verbs which the future and present have the same form? It’s the same with the conditional and the imperfective, they have the same form, too. “I/you/he/she/it/we/you all/they would describe something” and “I/he/she/it/ was or we/you/you all/they were describing something” is:

agh+v-ts’er-di, agh+_-ts’er-di, agh+_-tser-da, agh+v-ts’er-di-t, agh+_-ts’er-di-t, agh+_-ts’er-dnen.

Future, present, conditional and imperfect of our old friend gadatargmnis – he will translate it:

gadavtargmni, gadatargmni,gadatargmnis, gadavtargmnit, gadatargmnit, gadatargmnian

vtargmni, targmni, targmnis, vtargmnit, targmnit, targmnian

gadavtargmnidi, gadatargmnidi, gadatargmnida, gadavtargmnidit, gadatargmnidit, gadatargmnidnen

vtargmnidi, targmnidi, targmnida, vtargmnidit, targmnidi, targmnidnen.

(I added some color-coding to help.)

Just when you thought you’d seen everything, in some verbs, the future and present differ by a feature other than the preverb. For example: nakh-av-s = he will see it; khed-av-s = he sees it. And i-sts’avl-i-s = he will study it; sts’avl-ob-s = he studies it.

This implies that I will see/I would see (and so on) are: v-nakh-av(t), nakh-av(t), nakh-avs, nakh-av-en and v-nakh-av-di(t), nakh-av-di(t), nakh-av-da, nakh-av-dnen.

And that I see/I used to see (and so on) are: v-khed-av(t), khed-av(t), khed-av-s, khed-av-en and v-khed-av-di(t), khed-av-di(t), khed-av-da, khed-av-dnen.

While I will study it/I would study it (and so on) are v-i-sts’avl-i(t), i-sts’avl-i(t), i-sts’avl-is, i-sts’avl-i-an and v-i-sts’savl-i-di(t), i-sts’avl-i-di(t), i-sts’avli-da, i-sts’avli-dnen.

And I study/I used to study it (and so on) are v-sts’avl-ob(t), sts’avl-ob(t), sts’avl-ob-s, sts’avl-ob-en and v-sts’avl-ob-di(t), sts’avl-ob-di(t), sts’avl-ob-da, sts’avl-ob-dnen.

Ists’avlidit if I keep giving lessons? I sure hope so! Our next lesson will concern the nominative and dative cases. Conjugations! Cases! Can it get any better?!?

What Else?

While I’ve been knocked on my nether regions, I’ve seen a few good movies. The first was “Crossing the Line” about a US soldier, Joseph Dresnok, who defected to North Korea in the early 1960’s. The N. Korean authorities allowed him to be interviewed, with his family, including his tall blond, American-looking Korean kids, and therefore this documentary to be made. I strongly recommend it. I do remember though, watching the kids thinking ‘these are Americans but they’re lost to us, they speak that language, they live that way’ and feeling sad and that it was wrong – I wonder if Italians or Germans or Africans, when they see Americans of obviously Italian or German or African heritage, possibly with names reflecting that heritage, as fully assimilated Americans, feel the same – that part of their community is lost to the main whole, the centre, and is adrift in a strange world. I tell you I never really reflected on the idea that we are building a super-ethnic ethnicity out of our culture here – that ‘American’ is in some way a race of races.

I also saw “For a Lost Soldier.” I can’t tell if it was a vile account of pederasty or a story about love. I guess it was a beautiful thing but I’m still conflicted. It is beautifully filmed and very charming but that’s what abuse can be like at first. I’d really recommend that each gentle reader see it for him or herself and judge based on his or own impressions. Keep in mind if you do that the age of consent in many other countries can be as low as 14.

Much less complex, even frothy, is Km. 0, the classic farce with a happy end, set among pleasant looking people on a hot day in Spain, at ‘kilometer zero’ where all roads from Madrid begin.

I really enjoyed “Strawberry and Chocolate,” a rather old Cuban movie about friendship, in this case between a young committed straight Marxist man and an older gay less-fervent man in 1990’s Havana. The acting and staging were superb. I give it my wholehearted recommendation. I love it when David finds love with Nancy and friendship with Diego.

What Else, Else?Christopher Meloni in Esquire

Else is that we’re going to bid goodbye to Mr. Meloni and start with a new obsession. As usual, the header gives you a clue – but who? Who? Whose picture will grace our blog and tease our minds? Here’s a clue as to who – sometimes, our new obsession’s really filthy. And sometimes, we need a really filthy guy. Here’s a parting glimpse of our Mr. M., who, incidentally shares a state of origin with tomorrow’s man….

(She’s smiling because she’s off to a good start…click to see what I mean)

Leave a comment

Filed under Culture, Cute Guys, Exercise, Friends, Kartuli Ena

Leave a Reply

