Three In One Day?!?

Wow, three blog posts in one day!
The bread came out fine, I think; my instant read thermometer packed in (stopped working) so I (a) had to guess and (b) will have to buy another one. The dough itself was a lot less firm than I thought it would be; I often have to remember that sometimes things start out not so good but when they all come together they can be fine. (I wonder if life is like that, too?) In the end I did let it have two unshaped and one shaped rise, made two boules (round loaves) and slashed them in a plain old parallel lines design. I hope they are okay, as so often the batched (grew together, merging and creating a soft crust area) a bit, I don’t like batching unless I want the bread batched. I’ll let you know what it tastes like and maybe take a picture tomorrow…Would anyone like my recipe?

Some of the recipes in a book my friend K gave me use batching to create lovely soft loaves that can’t support their own weight without leaning on each other; once I figure out how to convert their the recipes from that book to the instant yeast I like to use I’ll try them. The book has recipes from all over the world and I really can’t wait to try more than I already have.

Oh, I made Jell-O! (Orange flavoured.) For the first time in my life. It wasn’t as complicated as I thought it would be. Thanks, K, for inspiring me. Now I shall cut up fruit to put in it.

C helped me by installing Leopard (Mac OS 10.5.2) on my iMac and I already love it. I love the way you can see previews of your files in the Finder. I love the new Mail application and hope I can start using Mail and iCal and ditch Entourage soon.

Inspiration

I think I shall download this video from Rendier to inspire me while walking…I think his accent’s so sexy and I love how his one eyebrow will raise, almost unconsciously. I just wish he didn’t periodically become a bit of a ranting lunatic.

Muddy Mr. Mike Rowe

I can’t resist these; these are screen caps from an episode of Dirty Jobs where Mike Rowe didn’t really work so much as test out a mud bath made of volcanic ash mixed with some sort of mineral spring water. It actually sounded great until he mentioned that mud was getting in where mud was not supposed to go. While I couldn’t help think about all the nooks and crannies, I had to agree that some nooks and some crannies should not be invaded by volcanic or other debris. I hope you enjoy the pictures…if you’re wondering why he starts out showering and then gets dirty, it’s because they ‘reuse’ the mud so you have to be clean before getting in…then for some reason he paraded about outside in just his little (but still too big) towel. (As usual, just the smallest little click will really flick his bic.)Mike Rowe showering (1)Mike Rowe showering (2)Mike Rowe showering (3)Mike Rowe showering (4)Mike Rowe in mudMike Rowe in mud (2)Mike Rowe on the streetAnd here is a video of Mr. Rowe’s outtakes in his marketing ‘bits’ for his show. 🙂 He never fails to make me smile.

Speaking of Dirty…

And don’t we always? Our newest mini-obsession is Brasilian actor Felipe Folgosi, and the dirtiness tie-in is that in his set of photos for Paparazzo magazine he’s posing in some sort of abandoned industrial plant, looking greasily manly around all that steel. (I’m so glad C doesn’t mind me posting all this drivel; he’d only have to say the word and it would stop instantly.) Here’s a pic or two showing you him in his entirety, having his picture taken, and his oddly appealing face. I have to say that I like the models Paparazzo gets but they don’t have the close-ups I find in The Boy.

Felipe Folgosi intro
Felipe Folgosi having his picture taken

The Face of Felipe Folgosi

(Wouldn’t you like him on his back on the ground smiling up at you?)

4 Comments

Filed under Apple, Baking, Cute Guys

4 responses to “Three In One Day?!?

  1. Karen

    I told you if you could bake bread you could make Jell-O. Did you use the “traditional” recipe or did you use the “ice” method? Orange sounds lovely – I might have to make some when I get home tonight.

  2. angloam

    I used the ice method, and a plain bowl for a mold. I probably won’t unmold it ‘properly’ onto a plate.

    I’m inspired to cut up bits of fruit and put it in. 🙂

  3. KW

    Now – Folgossi is my kind of guy!!!!! 🙂

  4. angloam

    Yeah, I don’t know what it is I find so appealing about him – perhaps it’s his slightly nervous look, and he’s got a nice jawline. Thanks very much for commenting – it means a lot to me- and I hope you enjoy the rest of this mini-obsession and the other blog posts!

Leave a Reply

