A Week That Was, That Was

This week was many things, mostly good (so that was okay, wasn’t it?).

First of all, I’m very sorry that it’s been over a week since my last update; life has been pretty good since then but that’s no excuse.

A Brief General Synopsis

At work, things were great in that it was quiet. CH, the Army Captain to whom I came out, has continued to be very nice, bit jocular perhaps. I’ve invited him to the FNC (Friday Night Club – a group of friends and I have been getting together since, oh, the late eighties for dinner once a week) and he’s said he may come along; I don’t think he has a lot of friends (or is just too polite to say “what a terrible idea!”). I don’t understand why he doesn’t have a girlfriend but perhaps there’s baggage there. It was great Friday at the gym when I was walking; he was swimming and we chatted together after our exercise. He was all excited about his new car. I think I feel a bit like he’s both an older brother I need to counsel, and a glamorous figure; Army officer, all athletic, football hero, and kinda sexy in his open topped jeep, jeans and dark glasses. I said his car was a ‘babe magnet’ but in ‘my community’ it’d be a guy magnet too.

It was a long weekend in the US, and C and I took great advantage of it. Friday night the FNC went to a local Mexican Restaurant. Saturday C and I cleaned the house a little and then had a marvellous evening with our good friends K, D and J. I picked K’s brain about the wedding reception. Just when I think I know what I want, it all goes out of my head in a swirl of favours and limousine bookings and do-we-want-a-buffets and how-about-a-signature-drinks and what-colours and what-songs? Honestly, it’s something I never thought I would have to worry about.

<increasing the volume of Carly Simon singing “Anticipation”>

Mind you, I do think I somewhat(!) dominated the conversation; I often do that and feel badly about it afterwards. I tend to be a bit controlling when I really want to discuss something; I can be very single-minded and domineering at times. I overreacted to a turn in the conversation and I’m a bit ashamed of my (over)reaction.

Sunday we worked very hard in the garden. (Hahaha no we didn’t we sat around the house until bestirring ourselves enough to get gasoline and food.)

A Walk in the Woods

Today, though, we got up reasonably early and went to the Skyline Drive in the Shenandoah National Park and walked the Limberlost Trail. I hope it was just the rarefied air at 3,000 feet or the steep bits in the trail but I was well puffed at times which made me feel a bit down. Mind you, I’ve not been to the gym much of late, nor did any lifting, so perhaps that’s why. I must go tomorrow (I’m taking the day off) and I must also move some weights about. We took some nice pictures and videos; those who have our other website address will see more presently…I need to update that muchly.

Other Thoughts

I’m very saddened by what’s going on in South Africa; I have a number of friends I’ve met through the internet and I don’t know what to think – whether or nor they’re in actual danger or are merely putting themselves in danger by helping the people the murderous filth have driven to seek refuge in cop shops and town halls. Some people distributing relief supplies have been attacked by bands of “xenophobes” (vicious filth, I’d call them).

Regarding EC, the new photo header is a different obsession, perhaps you can guess who it is? Meanwhile, here’s a blast from the past, the tightly-bejeaned Gary Sandy from his glory days on “WKRP in Cincinnatti.” “Chicks in New York would pay top dollar for that hair” to paraphrase a borrowed phrase; I hope you like this picture because there sure as heck aren’t many out there but I’ll post ’em as I find ’em…

Gary Sandy from WKRP in Cincinatti

(Wouldn’t you like to unwrap that package under your Christmas Tree?)

1 Comment

Filed under Cute Guys, Exercise, Friends, Work

One response to “A Week That Was, That Was

  1. Karen

    I have no idea who your new obsession is, but they look older in that pic at the top. Yes, those jeans on Gary Sandy are tight. We had a good time Saturday night – stop worrying.

Leave a Reply

