Once a week

Once a week isn’t much, is it?  Tsk tsk – Must Do Better.

At any rate, last Sunday we went to our good friends’ house over on the Eastern Shore of Maryland to play in their pool and enjoy a lovely rib dinner. Mmm good…far too good and I overindulged a bit, so Monday I was only down by a bit less than a pound. 😦

Monday I went to see my orthopedist about my knee and we decided to try a course of something called Synvisc to see if it will help; they’re trying to get it pre-approved by my insurance so I bet I’ll have to drop off the script next week. I had hyalgan before and it’s worked great so if Synvisc doesn’t, or only lasts a while, I’ll try that again.

Tuesday and Wednesday are a bit of a blur at the moment, but by Thursday I was doing so well on my activity and diet that I’d lost an additional 2 pounds. Friday I think things went off the rails a bit. First, I got a parking ticket at work because I forgot to put my handicapped parking placard out. There goes $155. Then I (wrongly) thought that C would be furious so my tension made (allowed? encouraged?) me to pick a rather overdramatic fight with him, and to skip working out. This was rather silly as I’d been looking forward to it since we were dismissed early and all and Thursday and Wednesday there was a rather good amount of EC at the gym. Instead I went home. We were all made up and went out with our friends for sushi. C & I overate grossly but it was all so good.

Today I didn’t work out or see Neal as we took my dad out to lunch. We went out to a Pho restaurant in Crofton where he lives and I was pleasantly surprised; they had a very extensive menu and it was quite good. He can be annoying, not horrible, not mean, but sometimes annoying. He was bound and determined to go to this pho place and so we did. Mind you I get this horrible feeling when he talks about his problems; I’m not used to frailty in my parents. It gives me all sorts of forebodings, and then I think about C missing his parents and wishing we could make as big a fuss over them as we do over mine, or even just wishing he could hug them. I wish I could make him happy and not miss them. He’s really wonderful and so giving but I’m never sure if he’s really content here. Maybe that’s why I never really feel impatient with him or that I’m giving too much, the way I did with previous “partners” – I want to give to C, to give and give and give and yet no matter what I get so much more happiness from him than I feel I have the power or ability or specialness to give him.

Visited with my mum afterwards for tea and got some good recce on wineries we may want to visit when in California. If it weren’t for the flight and my fear thereof I’d be a lot more keen on the trip. I am keen on marrying C but I dread the flight over there. Mind you I’m looking forward immensely to being there, I hope everyone understands. Then on the way to gas up we went to the Odenton Dairy Queen and I had a large malted. 😦  I am just just just keeping within my points, and I have have have to go work out tomorrow.

Plans for tomorrow then in no particular order:

  1. Bake bread (must make the sponge tonight)
  2. Work out, including make a list of the strength equipment available (and if I have the guts which ones I can actually fit on without looking like a solid blob)
  3. Do Georgian
  4. Put up more photos on our ‘other’ website (once again, all you have to do is ask for the URL but it’s not public).

You know, I’ve been so blessed with great friends around me, people I know that I don’t deserve but who for some reason or other enrich my life. They’ve been there for me so many times; times I’ve had virtually no money and was eating cup-a-soups for lunch and dinner, had my phone and electric cut off, was down to my last few bucks. They’ve fed me and let me stay on their sofas and I never feel I could do enough to repay them, but I would if I had the chance and knew what to do. That’s my trouble often — a lack of imagination. I’m great at getting or taking what I need, but not always so hot at responding to the needs of others, mainly because I guess I figure I let my needs be known, quite well(!) so others will too. I don’t know where I’m going with this so before I get all awkward (or boring) I’ll stop as a word to the wise is always enough.

Let’s lighten the mood and make it as sunny as Owen Wilson’s blond locks, shall we? Here is a smorgåsbord of him for your viewing pleasure. Oh, and Karen commented correctly, the mystery man is Oliver Hudson and his sister Kate used to date Mr. Wilson (O.). Since O. Hudson (not O. Wilson) is a big fave of C’s he’ll be back soon, as will more Boys from Brazil, but for now, let’s gaze on the sexiest broken nose in Hollywood…

(By the sights of what’s below his right elbow in the speedos shot, Mr. Wilson’s having a great day…)

Leave a comment

Filed under Cute Guys, Exercise, Family, Friends

Leave a Reply

