Bob swallowed a big load

Yes, Bob swallowed a big load this weekend; our friends’ dining room table fit in the back quite well. I was really pleased.

But first, to catch up…C and I found some of the data my counsellor asked me to…

How many fat and old people do you know?

Probably not many, based on what we found. See, my counsellor noted that I’m utterly terrified of general anesthetic because ‘I could die.’ (We were discussing bariatric surgery.) He says, and I see his point, and am trying to follow it, that I should regard overeating with the same concern, alarm even, as I do other dangerous things. It is more lethal to me than many of the things I do on a daily basis (drive fast while texting or searching for information on the net on my iPhone) or fear greatly (having general anesthetic). Since I respect evidence and facts (it was evidence and facts that got me flying without fear, in fact, with real eagerness) he thought some research into the facts and evidence would be a good thing. So here’s today’s true facts about true risks of being overweight or obsese:

Reported in the Journal of the American Medical Association and the Annals of Internal Medicine, the studies found that obesity is of particular concern for younger adults in their 20s and 30s. The risk is greatest for obese African-American men, who stand to lose about 20 years of life, even after accounting for smoking.

(http://www.alive.com/5419a16a2.php?subject_bread_cramb=151)

I’m not African-American but twenty years is a long long time. Then there’s this:

CHICAGO — Being obese at age 20 can cut up to 20 years off a person’s life, with the biggest impact on black men, according to yet another study that underscores the long-term dangers of being overweight.

The research appears in Wednesday’s Journal of the American Medical Association and was released a day after another study that said that being fat at 40 shortens a person’s life by at least three years.The JAMA study, led by University of Alabama at Birmingham biostatistician David Allison, found that life expectancy for 20-year-olds with a body-mass index of at least 45 is 13 years lower for white men and 20 years lower for black men, compared with people of normal weight.

Body-mass index is a height-to-weight ratio; 30 and above is considered obese. A person who is 5-foot-4 and 262 pounds would have a BMI of 45 — and look like a sumo wrestler. But millions of Americans are that fat, Allison said.

The life-shortening effects were found to be lower for 20-year-old severely obese white women (eight years of life lost) and black women (five years lost).

In Tuesday’s Annals of Internal Medicine, Dutch researchers presented data on about 3,400 mostly white, middle-aged Americans. The researchers found that being overweight at 40 is likely to reduce life expectancy by at least three years — as much, they said, as smoking cigarettes. Obese, or severely overweight people, lost even more years — about six or seven.

The JAMA study was based on an analysis of nationally representative surveys of more than 14,000 Americans.

Life-shortening effects were less dramatic in people who were less obese.

http://www.healthworks2000.com/study%20says%20obesity%20cuts%20life%20span%20for%20young%20adults%20too.htm

Thirteen years is also a long time. That’s far too long for C to be alone in the world without me to take care of him, for him to be sad and alone and ME NOT ABLE TO DO SQUAT ABOUT IT, which is what really horrifies me. And then there’s this:

Large decreases in life expectancy were associated with overweight and obesity. Forty-year-old female nonsmokers lost 3.3 years and 40-year-old male nonsmokers lost 3.1 years of life expectancy because of overweight. Forty-year-old female nonsmokers lost 7.1 years and 40-year-old male nonsmokers lost 5.8 years because of obesity. Obese female smokers lost 7.2 years and obese male smokers lost 6.7 years of life expectancy compared with normal-weight smokers. Obese female smokers lost 13.3 years and obese male smokers lost 13.7 years compared with normal-weight nonsmokers. Body mass index at ages 30 to 49 years predicted mortality after ages 50 to 69 years, even after adjustment for body mass index at age 50 to 69 years.

Conclusions: Obesity and overweight in adulthood are associated with large decreases in life expectancy and increases in early mortality. These decreases are similar to those seen with smoking. Obesity in adulthood is a powerful predictor of death at older ages. Because of the increasing prevalence of obesity, more efficient prevention and treatment should become high priorities in public health.

http://www.annals.org/cgi/content/abstract/138/1/24

A loss of 5.8 years is also bad, and this was the lowest penalty associated with obesity I’ve found. In fact the only site I’ve found so far to contradict these data is the clearly biassed “Center for Consumer Freedom” which is funded by the food industry (not that they’re keen on telling people the names of the companies that support their silly denialist crap. I won’t give the link to their ‘data’ as I don’t want to drive traffic to their site.

So what has all these data done for me

As usual the week started off dismally, got better, and ended on a bad note. I made a great roast chicken tonight from Chef Keller of the French Laundry’s recipe, and it was really good, but for lunch we had burgers and milkshakes. Yesterday I made a glutton of myself at our good friends (once Bob disgorged his load) house, but at least I did some intense walking. (I’m alternating sixty minute days with shorter but faster walks; Saturday I got the fastest I’ve done so far, albeit only for one minute. I’m following the advice given in Body For Life. So that was okay, I guess. Comme ci, comme ça, as it were. I expect to have ‘held steady’ this week, but starting tomorrow (it’s always tomorrow, eh, Annie?) I will do better. Partially because I’m going to add two new pages along the top (up there) to log my intake (Weight Watchers points) and output (exercise, cardio and strength) and results (change in weight – still too vain to list actual weight but change is okay).

Other stuff

I did have a good vibe yesterday; I’d ordered some work trousers, some jeans, and some training trousers, and have to send them all back as they are too loose. That’s what comes of using my last order as a basis for it. That made up for buying two shirts I could have sworn would fit which were too short.

We went to mum and dad’s house to check on it while they’re in Florida. I’m a little peeved that despite some very very very unsubtle hints, they’ve not made any offer to C and I to use the Florida condo they’re buying for our summer vacation. We’re looking at either Utah to see the extraordinary scenery or the Carolinas (since not Florida) but if we do a beach vacation I would really like to get a house with a pool as C and I both like swimming in pools as well as the ocean…C actually prefers it I think. There’s tons of condos with pools, and we do go after season (after the kiddies are back in school) but I wonder how many people we’d have to share the community pool with. We’re both very shy, not that anyone’s ever been horrible to us. But if I took off my shirt people may go blind or I’d be arrested for bringing the human body into disrepute.

I baked two loaves of wheaty artisan bread today; but they didn’t rise much, so I’m hoping that their density will be matched by a good flavour. Or that the birds will like them.

A note:

K: I overreacted yesterday evening. The kids were enjoyable at the end of the evening. Perhaps it was the subject matter at dinner. And the ‘pea picker.'(Those who need to know will know what I mean.)

A farewell

Yes, this is our last day with sexy Chris Evans, as I’m going to obsess on more inspirational guys for a while. Can you guess who it is, above? (A hint: His country was once much nearer to our mini-obsession Matus Valent’s country, but some soft fabric intervened.) Do you think Chris will get over it? I hope so; here are some pictures to keep him gentle on your mind as you wrack it for the identity of the newbie…as always, click on the thumbnails to make him grow before your very eyes…

iview1iview2iview3iview4

cellular

And here’s Matus, in Motion

I wonder if this will help to jog your memory about where our new obsession may be from and who he may be…

(Does it jog anything besides your memory?)

2 Comments

Filed under Cute Guys, Exercise, Health

2 responses to “Bob swallowed a big load

  1. That data is scary, for sure. I went out and walked today for the first time in a while. I have let our rainy weather discourage me, which was stupid. It’s much harder with eating than anesthesia, because it’s a slow process, not a one-time event. I would liken it more to smoking. Of course, even smoking you can cut out of your life almost completely if you insist on it, just like alcohol. But you do need to eat every single day, so it is difficult. I really think it’s about making new habits stick, and that takes a long time. Also, I am trying to find different ways of rewarding myself than with junk food. You are definitely on the right path!

Leave a Reply

