Nobody guessed

Perhaps this will be a good clue:

sebrle-javelin

Still nothing? Well don’t feel bad – nobody guessed who the new obsession lad is so (drum roll) I’ll have to tell you. He’s Czech decathlete Roman Šebrle (SHEB-ruh-leh) and he’s a fantastic athlete. He has set the record for the number of points scored in the decathalon – 9,026 points and he was the first competitor to score over 9,000. He won the gold medal at the 2004 Summer Olympics. In this last Olympics, however, he only came in sixth. A panel of experts convened by the Wall Street Journal in 2008 ranked him as the world’s greatest athlete. 

The article in the WSJ says “The Czech decathlete could jump over Shaquille O’Neal. He could throw a 16-pound ball the length of a 53-foot yacht. From a running start, he could leap over a two-lane highway. Mr. Sebrle has ideal size, according to physiologists, and expertise over a range of athletic pursuits, employing the speed of an NFL back and the vertical jump of an National Basketball Association forward. Some judges questioned whether Mr. Sebrle could withstand a tackle by an NFL lineman, but none questioned his talent in the 10 track and field events that make up the decathlon. He has won Olympic gold and silver medals for the Czech Republic and is the current world champion.”

Here’s a really nice (but oddly quiet) video of this handsome and inspiring guy and his various skills:

A varied and tiring week

This past week was very varied. I started off really good on my diet, had a hogzilla day Wednesday, really good Thursday, Jr. Hogzilla Friday and so far today pretty good. As promised I will put up the auxiliary pages this weekend. I think did pretty well at the gym but by the week’s end I was really tired out quick – perhaps it was the heat that did it, and the relative lack of eye candy as a motivator. I’ve been trying a new strategy – I increase the speed  I walk bit by bit until I’m going great guns, then drop it back and then ramp it up again. I’ve been very proud of myself getting myself quite quick, but when I tried to get my 60 minutes back on Friday, zip. I crapped out at 30. Maybe it was the heat. I also need to get back to the weight-losing room; I’ve set Monday as my target to do that. Today, since I mistimed everything, I didn’t get to go so I expect I’ll need to go tomorrow just to stop my knee seizing up. If I skip too many days, I’m all right walking but manomanoman does it hurt to get off the treadmill. I can’t describe how it feels, just maybe imagine one little tendon bearing all your weight, especially as I’m getting down and my bad knee is bent. It is really hard to endure. 

To be honest with you, I’m getting a little down on this process, I don’t seem to be seeing results as fast as I’d like, sometimes, I don’t see them at all. And I know the problem. It’s not the output at all. I’m sick, though, of my knee hurting all the time, of wondering “if the house catches fire, could I run out?”, of constantly wondering if I can make it to the shop or through the shop or to the car or wherever without my knee hurting or getting puffed or whatever. I need a breakthrough, a win, to keep myself motivated.

Or I need to dig deeper and find the motivation in myself. That’s partially why Mr. Š. will be my ‘obsession’ for a while; genetics could only take him so far. Sometimes I miss having Neal (personal trainer), but other times I think – well, it was just a charade. I am finding myself wondering more and more if a treadmill here wouldn’t be a partially good idea, for weekends or ‘rebellion’ times, but I just don’t know. I mean, the world is outside my door still, our neighbourhood has paved streets and sidewalks, right? (I just like having the arms of the treadmill to lean on when my back gets tired, or just I feel like it.) Again, I’m finding reasons external to myself and solutions external to myself and nearly always, some gadget or thingamajig that seems like the key to the solution to the problem, proves to be only as good as the grit in the person using or avoiding using it.

More to come; I’m making rasin bread tomorrow – or I am if I have enough butter for the recipe. I can be a little disorganized.

I should just relax

like this other representative from the former Czechoslovakian republic, this time from Slovakia (they grow ’em good in Central Europe) Matus Valent. This was the first picture I ever saw of him and doesn’t he look the epitome of sexy slumping (until you look a bit closer and realize that the pose he’s in is really unnatural and hardly relaxing at all.)

relaxed-matus

(It’s like he’s trying to tell you something….)

2 Comments

Filed under Cute Guys, Exercise

2 responses to “Nobody guessed

  1. I get being discouraged at the process. Maybe a treadmill would be good as backup for bad weather days (or weeks). But too often it ends up being an expensive clothing rack. 🙂 Honestly, I am not crazy about the treadmill even at the gym. I love being outside much much better. But I am lucky to have nice trails here.

    • That’s odd; I hate exercising outside. Mind you we don’t have nice trails here, not close or not that I know of (there are probably tons but I’ve no clue where they are beyond the obvious ones).

Leave a Reply

