Halfway Point

Halfway point, or nearly, through the weekend and here I am staring at a blank blog post, wondering what to say that might be interesting. The odd thing is, it’s nearly always easier to think of things to put in the blog when I’m driving around or going about my day; I will start writing them down from now on.

One thing I’ve noticed is that no matter what, day after day, the most popular terms entered into search engines to get people to my site are “Sakis Rouvas,” “Carlos Ponce,” “Marco Dapper,” and “Bear Grylls Nude.” (Nude, yes, never just Bear Grylls, but always wanting to see him nude.) That last one is odd because I don’t have any pictures of handsome Mr. Grylls nude on my blog, although I’ve certainly seen him nude – with his bits pixellated out of course – on his show. What’s really odd is that if you Google “Bear Grylls Nude” and click to see images, you get a NSFW pic of Marco Dapper I posted a link to. Very strange indeed. But I do owe my public the courtesy of giving them what they want so, if you’re over 18, here is a real actual NSFW picture of Bear Grylls, Nude (from the show but they seem to have forgotten the pixellating pixie, or the director was indulging himself and us).

I’m not sure but in the picture, his gentlemanly bits look a little less pixellated in this shot…and perhaps not as cold as might otherwise be assumed…just saying, is all. Confession: to me his sexiest features are his powerful legs and his willingness to put himself in danger and discomfort for my amusement. Thank you, Bear, for eating live worms for me.

Regarding the others, well, the big thing is that Sakis Rouvas has taken to publicising his every move on Twitter, which I’m still not too fond of. (Always fond of a bit of Sakis though.)

A Song You Should Listen To

You should listen to “La Tête Haute” by Les Cowboys Fringants, a néo-trad group from Quebec. This video shows the lyrics; they’re very touching and the voice of the lead singer is so pure:

(It’s about a sick nineteen-year-old at what he knows to be his last birthday party making his mind up to die with his head on high.)

I came across it while driving Bob around; he came with a few months’ trial of XM radio, on which is a station called Air Musique which plays a very limited selection of Quebec music. That’s an advantage when you’re trying to learn the lyrics though!  I had to take a picture of the display of the radio system so I could find the music on iTunes.

A Show You Should Watch

You should watch “Better Off Ted” on ABC. It’s smart, well-written, funny and stars Ellen’s wife, Portia De Rossi. C and I both liked it.

Two Movies I Should Watch

I’ve had Australia and On the Other Hand Death out for over a month or so now and haven’t watched them at all (that’s why I can’t say whether or not you should watch them–watch this space!). This darn internet keeps dragging me away from all my usual interests ( and if I don’t start watching the movies I’ll find myself questioning why I have netflix at all. And bugger it, I’ve just found out that I can’t watch instantly because of some error with my browser. Grrr.

Boing, ’tis Spring!

Not that you’d know it from AngloAm and his dh’s activities; we spent half the day in bed, half of that cuddling and the other half sleeping, and only emerged to get dinner. Utterly unproductive! And a waste of what I believe to have been an utterly gorgeous day with perfect spring weather. After all this cold, rain and gloomy dreary weather we’ve been having lately. Tsk tsk! We had planned to get up early (!) and drive to West Virginia.

Back story: there were a few cabins there that we’d looked at on-line, not to buy now, but to see what your money would get, and we wanted to go see them, but we couldn’t find them on line again. Some of them were near Seneca Rocks, one of our favourite locations in WV:

View Larger Map
It’s in the Monongahela National Forest but there’s a valley to the south that looks just like Switzerland and we both love it there. A cabin up there is probably on our ten-year plan as it were; with water (a brook, on a river, or a lake) and nearish to a main road. It doesn’t have to be a big fancy lodge, but it should be within three hours of DC or so, so that we could go up for most weekends.

However, we were very lazy indeed today and didn’t. Tomorrow we probably won’t – we have “things to do.” Oh, well, c’est la vie.

Goodness, is it that late already? I will take my leave by leaving you this sexy video of a sexy Marine relaxing after seven months in the Horn of Africa. I don’t think it is possible to watch this video without smiling. We’ll return to our Eastern European goodness in my next post….

(He’s just so cute and funny!)

2 Comments

Filed under Culture, Cute Guys, Fun and Relaxation

2 responses to “Halfway Point

  1. What a lovely song that is! Thanks for the link. Sometimes you just need a lazy day in bed, especially if you have someone special to enjoy it with. I had to click on the Bear Grylls link, of course. Very nice. He is definitely a favorite around our house, for those very same reasons you enumerated. It’s nice to watch him from the safety and comfort of our living room.

Leave a Reply

