Not Such a Success

No, my weight loss ‘efforts’ were not successful this past week. I gained 2.2 lbs, or a kilogram. I have no delusions as to why – I stopped recording my points on Wednesday and overate the entire week. And it’s not because of lack of support from friends or C; I don’t blame them.

But it’s a new week and a new chance and I really ought to leverage what I’ve learned over the past few weeks. First off, I can’t go without recording my points. Second, I can’t go without exercising three days in a row. Third, it’s no good getting discouraged if discouragement leads to mentally saying ‘eff it.’

So I was at the gym

See, you may have noticed that I’m no longer talking about weight lifting. At (not for) Christmas a Soldier at work gave me a book, no doubt well meaningly, but it really threw me for a loop. I’d been fine with going every day for sixty minutes, but this book suggested that (a) there was gain to be made in shorter walking at a faster pace and (b) that there was a better way to arrange my lifting. That really confused me and made me all confused. I’ve had “Set Up Weight Program” on my Things for weeks now. But this weekend I’m going to do it. My plan is to lift Mondays, Wednesdays and on the weekend. Those nights I’ll do the twenty minutes walking. The other days I’ll do sixty minutes. I’ll go with this and see how it feels. I do know that most people say that if you’ve only got time to do one or the other, do your cardio.

Pain in the leg

I found out I’ve got a stasis ulcer on my leg (caution: some of the images in the link are distressing). It hurts a bit when it’s not dressed. But the worse outcomes are that I’ve got to have C dress it all the time, with something called Algicell, I have to go to the doctor’s office  once a week for the forseeable future to have it ‘scraped’ (they do use lidocaine!), and I have to wear compression stockings socks. It rather sucks and it makes me more and more dependent on C as I can’t put the dressing on myself and it’s hard to use the socks. All this has me more and more despondent and unhappy.

Not too cool

I think C’s mad at me. I don’t go to bed on time, I don’t wake up on time, and I don’t do anything around the house. This darned internet! My darned lack of strength. Aimlessness seems to be the theme in my life right now. If don’t get something to do at work, I’m going to go bonkers soon. I don’t seem to accomplish anything here or there or anywhere and being lazy is getting to be habit forming.

Movies you should watch

AustraliaI’ve (finally) gotten around to watching the two Netflix aussie beautiesmovies I’ve had out for around a month. One was okay, one was good. Click on the miniature posters to see the imdb page on them. “Australia” was okay but even I spotted the anomalies and anachronisms; C noticed that geography had been stood on its head. However, the story, while predictable, is a nice way to while away some time (nearly three hours!), and if you can ignore the preachiness, you are treated to Hugh Jackman looking yummilicious as he so easily does. Good was “On the Other Hand, ontheotherhanddeath1Death” which is one of the Donald Strachey series of save-memovies starring Chad Allen who is gorgeous and a great actor and everything. I don’t know why they’ve not released “Ice Blues” which was made as part of the same series but since I loved the book I hope they do soon. Now as a bonus I found “Save Me” with Chad Allen, Robert Gant (oh, what a handsome man!) and Judith Light on Netflix Instant and watched it and it is also good. Really, affectingly good. I highly recommend it, especially if you don’t expect a formulaic “the religious are bad, the gays are good” treatment (the poster is misleading and overdramatizes things but I think Chad was Catholic, hence the crucifix). The religious people in the movie are treated with dignity and respect for the good they do, while acknowledging the bad, and the gay people aren’t always heroic, and I think that is what makes the movie worth your time.

So based on all that above, here’s a lovely (but not very high quality) shot from Save Me of Chad and Robert, looking so wholesome you just wanna eat ’em up. Wish me luck on my continuing quest to be thin and hit me up on Facebook if you want.

carg1

(Now who wouldn’t want to be the creamy center in that sandwich?)

9 Comments

Filed under Culture, Cute Guys, Exercise, Gay, Work

9 responses to “Not Such a Success

  1. Keith

    not the creamy center – just one of them. Though in a recent interview – Chad said he’d been with someone for over 10 years now.

  2. Hang in there! I know that feeling of laziness and listlessness you are describing. I wish you had somewhere outdoors to walk, because it really does make it more fun. I am doing an hour or so 4-5 days a week. Aiming for 5, but I really need to do garage sales (for my book buying) on Fri & Sat mornings. I think that just the steady exercise (you can build up to faster later) is helping my energy level above all, helping me get over that general malaise which is so easy to sink into. I’m sorry about the ulcer. That’s got to make the rest of it harder. Writing down the eating is definitely a necessity too. It is just so much easier to forget it all when you don’t keep track.

  3. P.S.-Didn’t Robert play Ben in Queer as Folk? I was addicted to that show.

  4. Hey AngloAm – great site which I fell across whilst looking up Sakis Rouvas on my Eurovision research.

    Couple of things – the general lack of motiviation, weightloss issues etc. are something I utterly identify with and thanks for sharing – just so you know – you are not alone – likewise for the “BS” stuff you mention in another post.

    Keep the hunks coming – some of them I’ve never heard of and am very pleased to discover!

    Finally – keep blogging!

    Hope the ulcer gets better soonest.

    M

Leave a Reply

