Not Ideal

Not ideal has been my performance at weight loss. In fact, I gained. Four pounds. 😦

I know why. I didn’t track my points on WW, and I didn’t work out much. I also ate quite a bit. I also snacked quite a bit. No one snack or meal was over the top, but a string of not very good, too big, or just fatty meals makes a difference.

So no blaming it on anyone but myself. This must be reversed. I had two weeks of effortless loss and now this. Not ideal at all.

No excuses. Well, a partial one. The gym is not air conditioned and it’s been very muggy and hot; sometimes worse inside than outside. I need, however, I guess, to suck it up and all. I’ve never been good at that kind of sucking up; nor at sucking up to bosses, come to think of it. Oh, dear. But! Mustn’t defeat myself before the struggle, eh?

Meanwhile I think I’ll make the WW page my home page at work and home. That ought to help.

In other news

I joined stickam, but so far don’t see the attraction of twinks spouting drivel. Maybe it’ll be like Twitter; I didn’t get it at first, then I did, a bit, but don’t see why some people are crazy in love with it. It was the same with Facebook as well.

In yet other news

Have you ever seen the Monty Hall problem? I still can’t quite wrap my head around it. My brother showed it to me last night at a family dinner for my SIL’s birthday (we brought a lovely fruit tart from Whole Foods (more on Whole Foods later) and got her a gift certificate from Anthropolgie, a store she seems to like). Here it is, from the Wikipedia article I referenced:

 Suppose you’re on a game show and you’re given the choice of three doors. Behind one door is a car; behind the others, goats. The car and the goats were placed randomly behind the doors before the show. The rules of the game show are as follows: After you have chosen a door, the door remains closed for the time being. The game show host, Monty Hall, who knows what is behind the doors, now has to open one of the two remaining doors, and the door he opens must have a goat behind it. If both remaining doors have goats behind them, he chooses one randomly. After Monty Hall opens a door with a goat, he will ask you to decide whether you want to stay with your first choice or to switch to the last remaining door. Imagine that you chose Door 1 and the host opens Door 3, which has a goat. He then asks you “Do you want to switch to Door Number 2?” Is it to your advantage to change your choice?

Apparently, it is. Here’s a demonstration of this totally counterintuitive problem from the New York Times. It’s counterintuitive because you are faced with two doors, behind which one is a fancy car, and behind the other is a goat. Surely the odds of picking the goat are 1/3 when you’re faced with the first choice between the three doors, and 1/2 or fifty-fifty when you’re faced with the second choice of two doors. But they’re not. Here’s a video of it too:

It does my head in.

Let’s free our minds

And the rest will follow, by considering our original, exercise-inspirational obsession, Mr. Nick Beyeler, here showing us his Thai style wrapping and how lucky a tree can be:

NBNB1

 

NBNB2

NBNB3

(Watch out for splinters, Nick!)

4 Comments

Filed under Cute Guys, Exercise, Fun and Relaxation, Health

4 responses to “Not Ideal

  1. Karen

    Look at where you were when you started your journey. . . look at where you are now. . . if you are still on the “losing” side that’s good. Put last week behind you and focus on this week. You know you can do it. And I know you can, too.

    HUGS!!!

    • Thank you for that. I did put quite a bit behind me – into my fat *ss! 🙂 But a new start is upon me and I’m just slightly dreading the heat in the gym this arvo.

      • Karen

        I’m spoiled. After dinner I got on the treadmill and ended up dripping with seat. I knew it would be bad so I treadmilled in my bathing suit. After walking I jumped in the pool.

      • Rub it in why don’t you?!? It was a steam bath in the gym today.

Leave a Reply

